Kanawha County Board of Education

5-19-20 Board Meeting

The Kanawha County Schools Board of Education will host a statutory session Tuesday, May 19 at noon. We are providing a call-in number to anyone who would like to join. We ask that you please use this number instead of attending in person. 

To join the board meeting, dial 1-304-553-7794. Then enter 916 371 015# as the conference ID number. 

The Kanawha County Board of Education establishes educational policies to be executed by the Superintendent of Schools, whose primary responsibility is to provide creative and effective administrative leadership. The Board is composed of members elected on a nonpartisan basis for four-year terms. No more than two members may be elected from any one magisterial district.

The Superintendent is appointed by the Board. Board officers include the President and President pro tem, who presides in the President’s absence. The President presides at all meetings, signs legal documents on behalf of the Board, serves as official spokesman for the Board, and performs other similar duties as prescribed by law. Officers are elected biannually. The Kanawha County Board of Education members receive $160.00 dollars per meeting up to fifty (50) meetings per year. After fifty (50) meetings the Board members receive no pay.

Board Members

Ryan White, Board President

Ryan White was re-elected to the board of education for his second four-year term beginning July 1, 2018.  He currently serves as the Board’s president.  Ryan is also the current president of the School Board Association of West Virginia.  Ryan served on the RESA 3 Advisory Board from 2014 until 2018.  He and his wife Kate have two boys, Jackson and Cameron, and a daughter Jillian.  He runs a law firm with his father, Steve White and Mark Matkovich, known as White Law Offices, PLLC which is a boutique transactional firm that focuses on public finance law and government relations.  Ryan’s prior public service include serving as a law clerk to the Honorable Judge Joseph Robert Goodwin in 2005-2006, counsel to the West Virginia Senate Finance and Economic Development Committees in the 2009, 2010 and 2011 legislative session and serving on Governor Tomblin’s Natural Gas Vehicle Task Force in 2012-2013.  Ryan graduated from the University of Michigan with a BA in Political Science in 2001 and graduated from the West Virginia University College of Law with a J.D. in 2005.  Ryan has been very active in the Kanawha Community serving as Co-Chair of Generation Charleston, President of the East End Community Association, as a board member of Kids Chance of West Virginia and the Childhood Language Center.

Email: Ryan White

Jim Joseph Crawford, Sr.

Mr. Jim Crawford Sr. has served on the Kanawha County Board of Education since 2000. Mr. Crawford graduated from Winfield High School and West Virginia State University at Institute, where he played varsity football and received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Education.  He received his MA Degree in Education from West Virginia University. He and his wife Marilyn are the parents of one son who also teaches in the school system. Jim Sr. is a retired teacher/coach from St. Albans High School having served the Kanawha County School system for fifty-six years and served as an assistant football coach, golf coach, Head Wrestling Coach, Head Girls Track Coach, and Athletic Director Mr. Crawford was a past President of the West Virginia School Boards Association. He currently serves on the Board of the WVSSAC.

Email: Jim Crawford

Becky Jones Jordon

Becky Jones Jordon is a lifelong resident of Charleston.  She is a graduate of Stonewall Jackson High School, received a bachelor’s degree in Social Work from West Virginia University and a Masters in Social Work from WVU.  Mrs. Jordon has been a very active parent volunteer in Kanawha County Schools for many years. As a member of the Board, she sits on the Head Start & Preschool Policy Council. She is a member of the National Association of Social Workers and has been a social worker for many years in the Kanawha Valley. Becky is also on the Thomas Health Systems Foundation Board along with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes Board. She resides in Charleston with her husband Andrew.  She is stepmother to Stephanie and Emily, and mother to Tyler and Andi.  All of their children have attended Kanawha County Schools. 

Email: Becky Jordon

Ric Cavender

Mr. Ric Cavender was elected for his first term on the Kanawha County Board of Education in 2016. For the past 11 years, Ric has served as the Executive Director of Charleston Main Streets, a non-profit organization housing two Nationally Certified Main Street districts on the West Side and East End of Charleston, focusing on economic development, community development, business district marketing, and public space improvements. Since the programs' inceptions, the districts have experienced public and private investments totaling over $470 million. He has a combined 19 years of nonprofit and business development experience in Kanawha County. A 2000 graduate of Sissonville High School and 2005 graduate of West Virginia State University (Business Administration - Management & Marketing), Ric currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the YMCA of Kanawha Valley. He is a 2015 graduate of Leadership West Virginia, serves on the Marketing Committees for the Charleston Convention & Visitors Bureau and FestivALL Charleston, as well as the Economic Development Committee of the Regional Intergovernmental Council. In 2018, Ric was among 30 urban development professionals selected worldwide for the Emerging Leaders Fellowship through the International Downtown Association. He resides in Charleston and is the parent of two boys who attend Piedmont Elementary.

Email: Ric Cavender

Tracy White

Tracy White was elected for her first term on the Kanawha County Board of Education in 2018. Tracy has received both local and national awards for her tireless efforts of improving the lives of people living with diversities. She is a graduate of Nitro High School and studied Psychology at Liberty University. She received her certification as a Christian Life Coach as well as Crisis Counseling and is certified as a Positive Behavior Support Specialist. Tracy has been an active volunteer parent in Kanawha County Schools for many years, a parent assistant, substitute Autism Mentor, and Special Education advocate.   Tracy currently resides in Cross Lanes where she is a strong community leader along with her husband, Jerry, and their three sons Nathan, Connor, and Bailey.

Email: Tracy White

Ron Duerring, Superintendent

Ron Duerring became Superintendent of Kanawha County Schools on Sept. 21, 1998. He came to Kanawha County Schools in 1975 as a teacher at Spring Hill Elementary and has since served as a consultant, principal, and assistant superintendent. When Dr. Duerring served as Principal at Grandview Elementary, Grandview was selected by the WV State Department of Education as a Blue Ribbon School. While serving as principal, he was selected by the Kanawha County PTA Council as Principal of the Year in 1996 and Superintendent of the Year in 2000 by the West Virginia Music Educator Association. He recently was awarded membership into the International Who's Who of Professionals. Dr. Duerring is married and the father of one child, and lives in Charleston.

Email: Ron Duerring, Superintendent