43 Kanawha County Students Qualify for National DECA Marketing & Management Competition

  • News
  • Briana Warner
  • 3/22/2018

Forty-three high school students from Herbert Hoover High School, Nitro High School, Sissonville High School and St. Albans High School have qualified to compete in the national competition at the DECA International Career Development Conference April 21 – 24 in Atlanta, GA. DECA is a nonprofit international student organization that prepares students for a future in marketing, finance, hospitality and management.

At the international conference, Kanawha County Schools students – ranging from high school freshmen to seniors – will compete in a variety of events in areas including, but not limited to: hospitality services team decision making, hospitality and tourism professional selling, financial services team decision making, buying and merchandising team decision making, human resources and quick serve.

All students placing first or second in the state, qualified to compete at the national competition.




Herbert Hoover High School

1st Place


Kristen Rager


Retail Merchandising

Madelyn Bailey & Willow Welch


Marketing Management Team


2nd Place


Tristan Toney


Principles of Finance


3rd Place


Tiffani Crouch


Personal Financial Literacy

Madison Berry


Apparel & Accessories Mktg

Nitro High School

1st Place


Laura Crist


Personal Financial Literacy

Nick Withrow


Food Marketing

Isaiah Perry


Apparel & Accessories Marketing

Tori Porterfield


Accounting Applications

Russell McClanahan


Human Resources Mgmt

Starla Hager


Quick Serve Restaurant

Kayla Fleetwood


Business Finance

Jacob Arnott


Restaurant & Food Service

Lucas Nichols & Jayden Taylor


Sports & Entertainment

Drake Hoybach


Automotive Services

Hailey Hagerman, Katelyn Harrison & Hannah Lawrence


Creative Marketing Chapter

Logan Gunter & Hannah Lawrence


Financial Literacy Chapter


2nd Place


Trinity McDonald & David Shaffer


Hospitality Services Team

Keaira Baldwin & Jordan Larck


Travel & Tourism Team

Jackson Igo & Austin Slater


Marketing Mgmt Team

Robbie Garbin


Sports & Entertainment

Lauren McClung



Whitney Smith


Hotel & Lodging Management


3rd Place


Jessa Holton


Business Services Marketing

Jennifer Bailey


Retail Merchandising

Saint Albans High School

1st Place


Trey Warner


Principles of Business Mgmt


2nd Place


Lauren Reed & Cassidy Lester


Buying & Merchandising

Jacob Adkins


Principles of Business Mgmt


3rd Place


Emma Gardner


Principles of Hospitality Mgmt

Daja Barrett


Quick Serve

Sissonville High School

1st Place


Seth Fields


Professional Selling – Financial

Amber Smith & Afton Myers



Kendyl Monday


Professional Selling - Hospitality

Katherine Whittington & Brady Hanshaw


Buying & Merchandising


2nd Place


Charleigh Roberts


Quick Serve Restaurant Mgmt

Elizabeth Kingrey & Dalton Ervin


Business Law & Ethics

Seth Frame & Zach Blankenship


Financial Services


3rd Place


Jenna Paitsel & Zoey Haynes


Travel & Tourism Team Decision Making

To qualify for the International Competition, DECA student members run a campaign and give a speech in front of 300+ DECA members and advisors at the WV Career Development Conference (CDC).  They also had to go through an interview and take an exam. There are individual, team, written, and chapter events within a variety of subject areas. Areas range from accounting to quick serve, and from advertising to the stock market. The first and second place winners at CDC qualify for ICDC.


DECA Inc. is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit student organization with more than 215,000 members in all 50 United States, the District of Columbia, Canada, China, Germany, Guam, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Spain. The United States Congress, the United States Department of Education and state, district and international departments of education authorize DECA’s programs.

DECA is organized into two unique student divisions each with programs designed to address the learning styles, interest and focus of its members. The High School Division includes 200,000 members in 3,500 schools. The Collegiate Division includes over 15,000 members in 275 colleges and universities.