Twelve Kanawha County Schools Students Recognized as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

  • News
  • Briana Warner
  • 9/27/2017

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has recognized 11 Kanawha County Schools students as Semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Those students are:

Capital High School

Janeanne Stockton

Elena Liu

George Washington High School

Maria Cevallos

Katherine Curry

Atticus Hatfield

Jerry Lacy

Mitchel Nelson

Cassandra Sobieski

Obadah Tolaymat

Zayd Tolaymat

Jason Wilder

Nitro High School

Erica Larijani


These students are able to move forward to compete for approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarship awards and are 11 of 16,000 Semifinalists nationally. About 15,000 of the 16,000 Semifinalists will move on to be Finalists, which will be announced in February. From there, half will receive the Merit Scholar title and compete for scholarship dollars.

“The district recognizes and congratulates these eleven students for their hard work and academic excellence,” said Dr. Ron Duerring, Superintendent. “We are proud of all the work that our teachers, administrators and parents do across the county to promote college and career readiness. These students have put in countless hours of work and should be commended.”

More information about the National Merit Scholarship Program is available here.