Bus Driver Billy Wiseman Placed 2nd in Conventional Bus Category at International Safety Competition

Courtesy of NSTA

PHILADELPHIA, PA - The National School Transportation Association (NSTA) hosted the 48th Annual School Bus Driver International Safety Competition (International Competition) on Sunday, July 22, 2018, at the Wells Fargo Center, parking lots E and F, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  This event was held in conjunction with NSTA’s 54th Annual Meeting & Convention, which was held on July 23-25, 2018.

This competition offers school bus drivers from across the United States and Canada the opportunity to showcase their knowledge and skills, allowing them to compete for the international title.  In order to be eligible, a driver must have competed and won in a state or province competition in their designated school bus class during the last year. The driver must also enter the International Competition in the same designated school bus class that he or she won at the state or province level.   The driver with the highest score in each school bus class for a public sector carrier and the driver with the highest score in each school bus class for a private sector carrier are eligible to compete in the International Competition.

The contestants began the International Competition on Saturday, July 21, 2018, with an orientation and a written exam testing their understanding of the rules of the road.  Then, on Sunday, July 22nd, the drivers were behind the wheel of a school bus and completed a road course.  Drivers competed in one of three categories: small bus, conventional or transit. 

NSTA is pleased to announce the following winners, which were acknowledged on Sunday, July 22, 2018 at the NSTA Safety Competition Dinner and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by IC Bus, LLC.  Banquet festivities were held at the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


Small Bus:

First Place: Josh Simpkins, Montgomery Co. Public Schools, Virginia

Second Place: John Labus, Cabell County Schools, West Virginia

Third Place: Dorothy Dorman, First Student, Inc.,  Kansas

Honorable Mention: Bryan Brooks, West County Transportation Agency, California


Conventional Bus:

First Place: Larry Hannon, Centennial School District, Pennsylvania        

Second Place: Billy Wiseman, Kanawha County Schools, West Virginia

Third Place: Michael Castaneda, North East ISD, Texas    

Honorable Mention: Cathy Graham, Montgomery Co. Public Schools, Virginia


Transit Bus:

First Place: Victor Garza, Newport Mesa USD, California 

Second Place: Dee Dee Lewis, Allen ISD, Texas

Third Place: Sergio Duenas, Durham School Services, California

Honorable Mention:  Mike Webster, Brightbill Transportation, Pennsylvania

“This great event showcases excellence in school bus knowledge, maneuvering and skill.  School bus transportation is the safest form of transportation to and from school.  In fact, children are 70 times more likely to get to school safely when taking a bus instead of traveling by car.  All of the drivers in the International Competition are truly the best of the best on and off the road.  We congratulate all of the drivers in this International Competition.  We also recognize and honor the winners in each vehicle category,” offered NSTA President Blake Krapf. 


About NSTA:  The National School Transportation Association has been the voice of private school bus contractors, manufacturers and suppliers for over 50 years. The association provides school transportation professionals with the tools and resources they need to make school buses safe, affordable, and efficient nationwide.